The Visit

psychiatrist-snoopyI arrived 20 minutes early because I wanted to leave work early.  Work has been very dull lately because I have very little to do.  I’m friends with the staff woman at the desk so we had a friendly hello. When I went to pay my copay, she said my insurance had rejected my last two claims.

I was alarmed.  I showed her my insurance card and she said they have never take my insurance.  I’ve had this insurance for 2 years now.  Man oh man, I might owe several thousand dollars.  We’ll see.  I’m trying not to worry about it.

My wife was planning on joining me for the visit.  She is good at hearing the doctor and asking questions, so I agreed;  however, the doctor doesn’t like her.  She’s pushy and she doesn’t give the guy enough credit for knowing what he’s doing, so I was a little tense.

I have a really good relationship with him and he has taken exceptionally good care of me over the last 5 years.  He likes me. He has said so.  He likes working with someone who is as educated and cooperative as I am.  He has to deal with a lot of difficult people throughout his day.

We have been experimenting with Seroquel and we’ve had some success, but there’s still a ways to go.  It has been wearing off at around 3 pm.  I can’t take it until I get home at 6 pm.  And once it’s working, it feels like I’m intoxicated.  That’s a problem for a couple of reasons.  I don’t feel safe to drive and I’m an alcoholic.  I don’t want to feel intoxicated.  I looked it up and the drug is actually used to treat alcohol and drug use.  In fact, my doctor admitted that he uses it for marijuana cravings. My hope is that the side effects will diminish over time.

The new plan is to take the Seroquel XR (Extended Release) to give me a 24 dose.  I took it last night, and for a couple of hours, I felt intoxicated, then I got used to it.  This morning, I feel groggy, but it might have to do with all the gluten I ate yesterday.

I really want this to work.  The medicine is not a perfect solution, but it does seem to work.  My wife says it is making a difference.  Time will tell.

 

2 thoughts on “The Visit

  1. Hope things get better for you.

    I don’t know how you cope in the US, having to deal with the cost of treatment as well as the illness itself. I think we’re lucky in Europe in that respect, although I guess no health system is perfect.

    Zoe

    • I’m optimistic that it will get better. I’m blessed to be well off enough to get the treatment I need, but even still it is a strain. Honestly, my symptoms aren’t really bad. I’m just used to smooth sailing. I fly off the handle. I get a little inappropriate with women (hypersexuality). I ramble on. I get intense and obsessive. It’s enough to need to do something about it, but it’s not going to destroy my life.

Leave a Reply

